Fa b r i c i o   a t t o s

Classical Guitarist, Music Producer & Entrepeneur


New Stages is a research project initiated by Fabricio Mattos in 2018. It combines intense research and careful methodology to a practical and tangible output, where the very basic concepts of artistic performance are scrutinised, denied, stretched, and eventually rewritten. The main basis for this project is a PhD undertaken by Fabricio Mattos at the Royal Academy of Music, London. The connection with such an important and well-respected academic institution provides the project with a robust academic and practical framing, thus creating an important and fertile ground for future growth. 

The project is structured into four main sections: analysis of basic dynamics and terminology in artistic performance; a vast research on the history and aesthetics of performance spaces in many countries and cultures; practical application of conceptual, historical, and aesthetic ideas on experimental performance events; revisiting basic dynamics and terminology based on research on published material, field research, and experience acquired with the events produced.

The Series 

The New Stages Series is a series of experimental performance events conceived and curated by Fabricio Mattos as part of his PhD project at the Royal Academy of Music. All events happen in London explore alternative layouts and dynamics between performers and participants, based on intensive research on history and aesthetics of performance spaces.

For photos of events and more information about New Stages, visit and like our Facebook Page!


P A S T   E V E N T S

Event #I: 'This Is Who We Are' 
Royal Academy of Music, 27 September 2018

This first event was a conceptual discussion about the 'stage', whether it's a physical, mental, or simply non-existing place. The title derives from the book 'Musicking' by Christopher Small.

Performers: (in order of appearance)
Irantzu Agirre, harp; Rachel Susser, flute; Plinio Fernandes, guitar; Varinia Oyola Rebaza, viola; Janell Yeo, violin; Louise Cournarie, piano
Event #2: 'Séance' (Halloween)
Royal Academy of Music, 31 October 2018

The second event of NSS happened in complete darkness, and included  ritualistic elements from around the world in an increasingly intense atmosphere.

Performers: (in order of appearance)

Luiz de Campos, beatbox & oboe; Vitor Noah, guitar; Lucy Humphris, trumpet; Irantzu Agirre, harp; Rachel Susser, flute; Lucas Jordan, flute; Magdalena Petrovich, cello; Leona Crasi, piano.

Event #3: 'Analogos'
Royal Academy of Music, 01 February 2019

The third event of NSS was inspired on ancient astrological charts and music composed in response to astrological, astronomical, and mathematical events. Participants were immersed into a live representation of the Universe, based on ancient Greek astrological charts.


Leona Crasi, piano


Event #4: 'Claustrophobia'

Royal Academy of Music, 29 March 2019

The fourth event of NSS was a metaphor.

Performers: (in order of appearance)

Dimitris Soukaras, guitar;  Iñigo Mikeleiz Berrade, accordion; Frederico  Paixão, flute; Elena Cappelletti, cello.


Event #5: 'Deconstructing Dance'

Willesden Green Library (Performance Space), 29 May 2019

In this event we deconstructed the aesthetics of dance as a musical genre, exploring in Performance some of the elements shared between Dance and Music. The performance space was divided into three levels, representing three basic elements of dance: gestures, rhythms, and places.

Concept, Production & Performers: Fabricio Mattos & Lucas Jordan